A seminarian longing for God

A seminarian at Notre Dame Seminary in New Orleans wrote this lovely reflection on Psalm 63 (his Blog is here):

The following entry is an expansion of a journal entry from my holy hour on All Saints Day. I found myself drawn – as I often am – to the first two verses of Psalm 63. I decided to go with it. This post is the same basic content that I wrote during that holy hour. I just expanded here and there and cleaned it up to make sense. My actual journal entries are generally even more rambly than my blog.

O God, you are my God, for you I long;
for you my soul is thirsting.

I always return to these first few lines of Psalm 63. Their meaning is so very clear, but why do I return? What are the movements in my own heart? Lord, what are your movements in me that draw me to these lines?
What does it mean to truly long for you? Do I?
To thirst? Do I?
My Lord, how can I truly look to you as something my soul cannot live without? Help me to see you and know you truly as the living water for my soul. Help me to not let my soul wither and die from thirst for you.

My body pines for you
like a dry, weary land without water.
So I gaze on you in the sanctuary
to see your strength and your glory.

My God, I sit before you and gaze on you. I behold you. I take in your presence. I see that my soul is dry and weary. I seek so much to fill it with water that can never quench its thirst. You are the living water. My soul does not need to remain thirsty, but I fear giving you a place to rest in my soul so you can be its water. I desire the result without the risk. But it is for you that I know I thirst. I know I long for you deep in my soul. I long for you, the God of my joy, the joy of my youth. As a child, I want to just find joy in life. I want to find that joy in you. Then, I can truly say to you that you are my God.

I gaze on you in the sanctuary.
My soul, like a dry weary land without water, thirsts for you.
My soul, my very being, longs for you.
O God, you are my God.

This entry was posted in Faith Reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

